I Googled myself and found . . . Chicago Blackhawks?

I’ve searched my name in the past, like one does, to see if I’m even slightly famous.  Lately I’ve been searching my name to see if my blog shows up so that I can increase traffic. I ended up looking into the lives my fellow name-bearers.  It’s like getting a snapshot of some parallel universe.

Even with a rare surname like mine, there are plenty of guys who have my first name as well: A real estate broker in Florida who was convicted of a state ethics violation for his actions while serving as mayor, a construction manager in Richmond, Va, a computer engineer in Boston, and a guy who ran 3 miles in 16:06 in High School back in 1973.

I’ve actually heard of a couple Dave Knickerbockers without Google.  There’s one nearby in Salem, OH, who I’ve often thought of dropping in on someday and announcing “Hello, I’m Dave Knickerbocker.”  How weird would that be?  When we first arrived in Boardman, OH, in 2005, I read in the paper about UAW rep with my name who had just retired.  In half of my job interviews people asked me if I was his son. The assumption is logical because we bear the same name. That can work in my favor if the man I’m confused with has a respectable reputation, but I’d run into difficulties if I ever decided to move to that city in Florida where the formerly-honorable mayor David Knickerbocker lives.

The one that intrigues me the most while Google searching is Dave Knickerbocker, head of marketing for the Chicago Blackhawks.  My look into his parallel existence was more in-depth due to the newspaper articles and radio spots that come with his work.  I haven’t had much exposure to hockey, but I have many other similarities with him:

  • During the parade to celebrate winning the Stanley Cup in 2010 he was irritated that the fly over was five minutes tardy and that the spotlight on the banner was late by three seconds.  The timing of Sunday morning worship has often been a concern of mine.
  • He stressed about not being able to find the puck from the last playoff game of their championship run.  My wife quips that the best place to hide something from me is right in front of my face.
  • Dave has played a role in two Emmy awards for tv commercials.  Hisapproach could be a chapter in my book: “You have to make sure they (the players and coaches) have fun. We want to make you see their personalities without them seeming to be an absolute joke.”

The quote that intrigued me the most was about his approach to the job when he signed on in 2009.  It’s one of those times when sharing my name is a good thing because it’s associated with greatness.  The team needed rebuilding and his response to those resisting change was: “That’s the way they had always done it, but that wasn’t going to be the way moving forward,’ Knickerbocker said. “My name is on this.”

Well, my name is on it too.

This touches on the point of the third of the Ten Commandments.  God’s name is very important to him because it is his identity, and his objection goes beyond our casual use of it.  Whatever recognition we get for our actions, his Name is on it too.  We should be more enraged about people in our Christian gatherings who don’t show grace than we are about hearing a child say “Oh my God” outside of prayer or a worship song.  God wants people to know him, and our charge is to show them the truth about who he really is.

Is God pleased that you sign his Name on your life, or are you just forging it?

“Jesus answered, ‘I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.'”  (John 14:6, NIV)

2 thoughts on “I Googled myself and found . . . Chicago Blackhawks?

Leave a Reply

