Mara Wilson: A classy former child star

A side effect of a Yahoo! email account is that I reach the log in page via a button on their news page that blasts all kinds of info. I’m a product of the times because short blurbs get my attention and distract me from my initial quest of retrieving email. Today I was caught again, but this time wasn’t so bad.

Child stars have a habit of running into trouble when they grow up. I won’t insult your intelligence by mentioning them because their names are so common in the media. That’s why it was refreshing to read an article about Mara Wilson – a child star I hadn’t heard of.  The only reason I recognized her was the grabber on Yahoo’s home page: “Why ‘Matilda’ child star quit acting”.  I took the bait and made my way to the article.  Mara was the star of Matilda, but was also in Mrs. Doubtfire and Miracle on 34th Street (1994, of course).

Why did we stop seeing her?  Her future in the acting business was bright; fame and fortune well within her grasp.  Mara put it simply in her blog: “Here is something no real celebrity will ever tell you: film acting is not very fun.”

That’s brilliant!  And, kudos to her parents for not pushing acting on her, if that’s what happened.  If not, even more kudos to Mara. She ended up going to NY University and is now a playwright.  Most importantly . . . she’s having fun.  She gave up what most people would do anything to get because it wasn’t fulfilling to her.  She gets two thumbs up from me.

If she’s a Christian, I wonder if she sees her faith in the same light.  The main thrust of the book I’ve almost completed is about how Jesus wants us to be attracted to him, yet so many of us are bored with our Christian experiences.  So, many people leave the church because they’re bored and don’t think Jesus is concerned with being interesting to them.  Or, some fill pews and endure church because it’s good for them as if spirituality functions in the same was bran cereal does for physical health.

I believe that’s a picture of Christianity Jesus doesn’t paint.

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” (John 10:10, NIV)

(Now, back to my email)

One thought on “Mara Wilson: A classy former child star

Leave a Reply

