We all need Dr. House

House is a character that people either love or hate. Scratch that.

House is a character that people both love and hate. Either way, people still watched his tv show that aired its final episode on Monday. His unethical behavior and cynical outlook could bring a person down . . . if he wasn’t right so much of the time. His professional stardom was as head of a very successful diagnostic team, but he had a way with diagnosing the psychological and sociological aspects of people as well.

A mantra he used to help get to the root of a the medical mysteries each week was “everyone lies.” A major part of the diagnostic process is information given by the patients and their loved ones. Almost every week there would be some aspect of the information that would be either left out or an outright lie. Despite the seriousness of the situation people are willing to misinform the professionals who are trying to help them in an attempt to guard some aspect of their lives. House may have been a drug-addicted egomaniac, but he always got to the truth that would almost always save a life.

I commented about a fellow blogger a few weeks back, J. S. Park of The Way Everlasting,  by referring to him as the “Dr. Gregory House of Christian bloggers.” He took it as a compliment, which was great because that’s what I had intended it to be. He gets past the niceties of political correctness to hit the heart of a matter. Gentleness is vital to Christian unity, but we also need to be able to take a hard-hitting, Holy Spirit-inspired knockout punch once in a while.

Wanna know why David was a “man after God’s own heart?”  Check out what he said:

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. (Psalm 139:23-24)

It has been an interesting point for me over the past few years to consider what Jesus said to Zacchaeus to make him repent. He was a tax collector who had cheated so many of his own people in his dealings with the foreign government that ruled them. Though people objected, Jesus went to Zach’s house to hang out. Look what Jesus said to make Zacchaeus repent:

When Jesus reached the spot, he looked up and said to him, “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.” So he came down at once and welcomed him gladly. All the people saw this and began to mutter, “He has gone to be the guest of a sinner.” But Zacchaeus stood up and said to the Lord,“Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount.” (Luke 19:5-8, NIV)

It wasn’t Jesus’ words that pushed Zacchaeus to repent, but those of the people who hated him. They referred to him as a “sinner.” Through their words Zach was confronted with the truth about who he was. Since he was open to it, even though it was the product of bad intentions, he was able to act on it to his eternal advantage.

The Word of God is sharper than a double-edged sword for a reason (Hebrews 4:12). If we allow it, the Holy Spirit will diagnose your spiritual disease so that you can be made well. And sometimes, if we’re listening for it, he’ll even use a Dr. House as his messenger.

5 thoughts on “We all need Dr. House

  1. Great post. Sometimes I hate being this guy, and in no way do I relish simply offending people. The scalpel always works better, but at times you need the broadsword.

    Speaking of House, the series finale just aired on Monday. Not the best episode, but he finally confessed, “I can change.” The inner-teddy-bear we all knew he had finally won.

    • And, he gave up a lot to be a friend to Wilson who has only a few months to live. I agree, not the best episode, but final episodes usually aren’t great. Thanks for being part of my illustration today.

  2. Dave – This isn’t about today’s blog. I can’t find an email address for you. I’m writing about Sara. She apparently has blocked me. I’m wondering if it is because I quoted her on your last blog? Sometimes our best intentions are missed understood. I’m sad. Oh well…the Lord knows all about.

  3. I’m also wondering if it wasn’t just the people’s muttering, but the contrast between how the people viewed Zacchaeus and how Jesus viewed him that moved his heart. While everyone else saw him as pond scum (which he deserved), Jesus saw him as worthy enough to visit. Jesus humanized him, while the others demonized him.

    • Excellent point! I’ve always focused on the people’s comment the immediately preceded Zach’s change. But, it must have been a glaring contrast to the way Jesus treated him. Wow, thanks for bringing that out, Willow.

Leave a Reply

