Far Side Friday – Roy’s Firm handshake

I’m afraid I can’t explain my compulsion to assign Friday blogs with alliteration. Anyway, my Friday blogs for the forseeable future will be based on the hilarity/insanity of Gary Larson. And yes, as everything else in God’s creation, it can all be used as illustrations for the Christian experience.

Roy is in the same place as somebody visiting your church for the first time. There’s a pretty good chance he’s not going to shake the pastor by his head, but he’ll certainly be unfamiliar with the customs of your church. And be sure of this – you have customs in your church. When do you stand up? When is it okay to sit down? Do you eat communion right away or wait for the pastor? I once say a woman eat her tiny cracker before everyone else and then fake taking it again along with everyone else to hide her faux pas. What is acceptable attire? Will I be accepted? Where do the kids go and when do they go there?

A guest page designed from the perspective of somebody who’s never been to your church on the web site is a great help, but there needs to be more. There needs to be a gracious, understanding atmosphere by everyone in your community. The best book I’ve read to help prepare for this is First Impressions by Mark Waltz. If you take the measures laid out in the book, with a bit of customization to make it a perfect fit for your church, you’ll have a place people want to come back to.

And if for some reason they do shake the pastor by his head, don’t annihilate their kind. I’m sure they don’t mean anything by it.

7 thoughts on “Far Side Friday – Roy’s Firm handshake

  1. Actually Dave, I’ve met a couple of Pastors/Officers call them what you will I have been tempted to shake by their head. By Gods grace I refrained, and I refuse to name them!

  2. Your blog is both fun and enlightening, so I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award!! You can read more about it at faithrises.com. Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

