Mini me

Zach is much different from his older, female siblings.  He’s eight, but his maleness was in full play even a couple of years ago. We were in the interesting phase where I was encouraging his adventurous, manly characteristics while guiding him to a healthy perspective of the responsibilities that come with them.  For instance, it’s okay to play rough with me, but not with mommy.  It’s been a joy to see him mature and to follow my lead.

His growth in understanding what it means to be a little man was affecting how he saw himself in relation to me.  While I was giving him a bath one evening back then he told me how he liked what he had worn that day because I had worn something very similar.  Boys love resembling their dads.  I asked him if he wanted to smell like me, too.  So, he used the same soap that I use—masculine soap (insert Tim Allen grunt).  Deodorant and aftershave completed the manly makeover.

I was beginning to worry that I may have prematurely released higher levels of testosterone than was appropriate for the little guy.  In his excitement, he found mommy and immediately shoved his head under her nose so that she could smell how he resembled me.  The scene became a bit dodgy when he hunted down his sisters and thrust his armpits in their faces so that they could also witness his masculine rite of passage.

Resembling Jesus makes Christians feel the same way. Do you know the joy you feel when you do something that Jesus would do?  That’s you looking like Jesus.  Don’t let it stop there.  Find other ways you can become more like him.

Zach isn’t the only one thrilled with becoming like me.  It gives me great joy to see it happen.  Our Father in heaven thinks the same about us.

And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate  the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. (2nd Corinthians 3:16, NIV)

4 thoughts on “Mini me

  1. So is Zack a Brut guy or an Old Spice guy or an Aqua Velva guy? Or perhaps an Obsession guy or a, Eternity guy or a David Beckham guy?

Leave a Reply

