Ahhhhhhhhhh! (Frustration, not relaxation)

frustration

frustration (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

So, I had spent at least an hour crafting the words to bring home my point. I am notoriously the worst editor for my own writing, but the timing to post the blog was short since Vanda and I had planned to take the kids to Kennywood, an amusement park near Pittsburgh just over an hour from where we live.

I did the spell checking and read over my blog from a few days ago about Chik-Fil-A. The memory of changing the word from quite to quiet in the first sentence is clear in my mind. The difference between the words has been clear to me for years. When I type quickly, though, letters in words can be jumbled – especially those words. Throw in the word quit and there’s even more room for error. And, since the misspelling of the one word is also the correct spelling of the other, spell check doesn’t always catch it. So my sensitivity to those words is pretty high, and I remember fixing it. Especially because it was in the first sentence.

You can imagine my horror when I got a text from my friend Gary informing me of the error just before we’d arrived at  the on ramp for interstate 376 in PA. I haven’t had a smart phone in about a year, so fixing it that way wasn’t possible. My laptop was over 1/2 hour away at home and I couldn’t delay our day by going back to get it. My daughter, Jess, has an iPod, but you need wi-fi for internet access. We had been to McDonald’s plenty of times without using their wi-fi. I used this fact to justify parking outside such a restaurant in Chippewa to access the internet without purchasing food from that particular establishment. It must have been divine intervention. Apparently, God wouldn’t let me off the hook through a naughty solution and so prevented my access to WordPress.

There was nothing I could do about it. What had potential to be the biggest blog of my short career (it turned out to be just that . . . by a long shot) was tainted and there was nothing I could do about it. And, it was in the first sentence (among other boo-boos)! How many people decide not to read something based on a silly error in the first sentence? I had done the right things to prevent it, but somehow I had screwed up the process of correcting and published it in its pre-edited state. And even if I could fix it, there are those who have my blog sent directly to their email so I could never fix those.

The solution came to me as we passed Pittsburgh Airport. I couldn’t have changed the blog until late that night, but someone else could. Kimmy McLaughlin (whose name I love because it has the word laugh in it, though you don’t pronounce it that way), had helped me set up my blog. She had designed it and directed me to the right widgets and stuff. She still has access to my account! So, I called her and she fixed it for me. Kimmy was my savior (small “s” here, so no comments are necessary). Kimmy was able to fix that first sentence and proof read the rest. Because I knew she would do it properly, a huge weight was taken off my shoulders. We had the best time at Kennywood we’ve ever had as a result. Thanks Kimmy!

Do you want a serious weight lifted? Check out what your Savior (capital “S”) did for you:

So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. And because you belong to him, the power of the life-giving Spirit has freed you from the power of sin that leads to death. The law of Moses was unable to save us because of the weakness of our sinful nature.So God did what the law could not do. He sent his own Son in a body like the bodies we sinners have. And in that body God declared an end to sin’s control over us by giving his Son as a sacrifice for our sins. He did this so that the just requirement of the law would be fully satisfied for us, who no longer follow our sinful nature but instead follow the Spirit. (Romans 8:1-4, NLT)

You . . . are . . . FREE! Now, go enjoy your spiritual journey.

9 thoughts on “Ahhhhhhhhhh! (Frustration, not relaxation)

  1. That was a day for mistakes! I totally relate – I’m a bad speller and proof-reader. But in Christ all my mistakes are erased. Thank God for Jesus!

Leave a Reply

