Of Froggers and Bloggers (My 100th post!)

Frogger

Frogger (Photo credit: methodshop.com)

Remember the game Frogger? It’s an older video game that I’d played a few times way back, but I was by no means a George Costanza (I’m not sure why I’ve referenced Seinfeld so much recently. I’ll cut it out now.). The game is simple enough. You play the role of a frog that is venturing across a busy highway to safety. You cross the five lanes to the safety of a purple median only to be met with the challenge of crossing a rapid river. Logs and turtles are provided for you to travel on, but they move at different paces and in opposite directions. For some reason, this type of frog dies if it falls in the water. So you must leap from one source of transportation to the other while avoiding running off the screen, which would also result in your demise. Timing is everything, and the player is dependent on the pace of the objects going by to reach the destination safely.

I can’t believe this is my 100th post! I’ll make the connection between froggers and bloggers, but first I’d like to share a few things I’ve learned since starting this just over 6 months ago:

  1. I’ve always got something to say.
  2. Number 1 is true unless I’m sitting down to actually say something significant on my blog.
  3. There are some great bloggers out there who consistently make me think and/or amaze me, like: Everyone has a story, Hovergraftdoggy, Momentum of Joy, Everyday Encounters with the Creator, and The Way Everlasting. There are many more, but I’ve read these recently.
  4. If you hear someone say that it takes patience to be a writer . . . believe them.
  5. I am my worst editor.
  6. An advantage to writing is that I can change my first attempt at what I’m trying to communicate long before someone actually reads it. It makes me look much smarter.
  7. Google helps me look smarter, too.
  8. I’m not a big fan of numbered lists,
  9. partly because I don’t know how many numbers is enough (this thought may actually belong with #8. Oh well.)
  10. I must be a writer at heart because I work on this without getting a penny for it.
  11. I learn a lot from people who comment on my blogs.

Lots of stuff to learn in the process of becoming a writer. I feel like that frog trying to cross the road or river, waiting for things to line up just right for me to be able to get where I want to go. When I started this blog I had just received my first contract to write seven devotionals. Now I’m up to four contracts for fifteen devotionals and one article. Patience has paid off. Pretty cool. (Darn, I think this actually should have been number 12 on my list.)

Want to know how to stay encouraged on your quest? While you’re waiting for God to do his thing, keep in mind that he’s probably already doing it. Jesus living isn’t just about getting where you want to go. It’s even more about becoming who God wants you to be. Take a look back at where you began and look at how you’ve changed in the process. You’ll discover that though you may feel like you’re standing still, you’ve actually made some great strides.

Just don’t stay in one place too long admiring how far you’ve come. If you don’t move forward, you may end up getting hit by a truck.

12 thoughts on “Of Froggers and Bloggers (My 100th post!)

  1. I’m honored to have you as a reader 🙂 I can totally relate to writing goals and disappointments. When I first started writing my blog I did it for the pure joy of doing it and being able to share what the Lord was teaching me. I went through a time of discouragement when I lost that focus and started thinking it was more about a bigger audience or getting published. I’m glad the Lord has brought me back to my first love and maybe even made my thoughts a little more legible in the process. I learned the hard way that God is *always* using his word coupled with my work for his glory and I trust him to do so no matter if I ever see the fruit of it at all. 😉

      • Well, perhaps my *lack of* comments (lol) has shaped my character in some way but I tend to believe that the time spent dissecting the Word if God in an effort to write something worth sharing is what truly shaped my thinking. At least I hope! Just call me Jeremiah. Lol.

  2. Congratulations on your100th post; I found your site through “The Way Everlasting” and enjoyed your interesting article. And the great decor — I love those sheep!

Leave a Reply

