Go for it!

I’m registered to go to the Christian Writers’ Conference near Indianapolis in a couple of weeks. I went last year for the first time and came away with some great insight. It’s hard to believe the difference a year makes.

It all started when my wife encouraged me to write a book about topic that weighs heavy on me. Check out my first chapter posted on this blog. I believe that church shouldn’t be a bore. Take a look at the Bible. Our God isn’t boring, so we shouldn’t be either. I’d never written anything outside of papers for school. But, I thought I’d give it a go. I was a bit scared but, as my Vanda reminded me, I’d just planted a church. What could be more scary than that? So I wrote the first chapter and had a few (very honest) friends critique it for me. They strongly encouraged me to write some more.

If you’re thinking about being a writer . . . get thee to a conference! They are packed with pros who know what it takes to pursue such an awesome undertaking. And they don’t sweet talk you. Every session last year had at least one comment about how difficult it would be to get published. But, they give you good, solid advice on how to get going.

The most important thing I learned is that no matter how well you write, you won’t get published if people don’t know who you are. The most common approach suggested in getting a book published was for new authors to promote themselves through writing articles, devotionals . . . and a blog. So, in the last year I’ve written many, many devotionals and articles – a lot more than have been published. But, I’ll go back to the conference this year with 15 devotionals and one article published. I’ve also got a blog, by the way. Not as many visits as many of the super star bloggers out there, but there are almost 1,000 more than last year when I had zero.

With 100 of the followers to this blog who are bloggers themselves, there are some who have at least thought about taking the next step but haven’t done it. There are probably one or two non-bloggers who have been knocking around the idea as well. My suggestion: Go for it!  If you’re nearby, this conference in Indiana would be a great start. Click on the picture above to go to their site.

If there’s a message that you’re passionate about, there’s a good chance that God put it there for you to share it. And, if you’re a Christian, you must realize that your God made himself vulnerable for you.  Now you can do the same for him.

2 thoughts on “Go for it!

  1. Always like reading your blogs, Dave. You’ll make a fine writer. Unfortunately Indianapolis is a little too far away from Australia to make it viable for me to come to the writers conference. My loss. I’m sure we will all benefit from you going, though.

Leave a Reply

