Being chosen is pretty cool

WordPress Logo

WordPress Logo (Photo credit: Phil Oakley)

There are 59,421,522 WordPress blogs in the world as of this moment.  Sixty-six percent of them are in English.  That means that 39,218,205 are in the language I write.  So I was amazed while opening my email last week to see that my most recent blog about a Toyota Prius and New Years resolutions (December 27) had been selected to be featured on the Freshly Pressed section of the WordPress Dashboard.

Pretty cool.

Some good things may come out of this.  I may get a bunch more subscribers.  And, it’s always nice to get recognition – especially for something that’s done for free.

But, I’m curious as to how my blog was chosen.  There are millions of blogs, but somehow mine came up.  How did I even get on their radar?  There are many more with better editing (I stink as my own editor).  Some of the media on sites I follow blow mine away.  And it’s easy to find sites with way more followers and visits than mine.

Maybe there’s an easy answer.  Whatever it is, I’m honored.  I understand that WordPress will send me something to put on the sidebar of this blog that shows it has been featured in Freshly Pressed.  Everyone who visits my blog from now on will see that it’s been recognized by editors at WordPress.  I may be puzzled about how they chose me, but I’m not silly enough to refuse the label because I feel unworthy to receive it.

Everyone who puts their faith in Jesus Christ for salvation has been chosen for the honor of having a spiritual journey with an incredible destination: becoming like Jesus.  You may feel unworthy for this honor – and we all are – but that doesn’t change the fact that you’ve been chosen.

Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love, to be made whole and holy by his love. Long, long ago he decided to adopt us into his family through Jesus Christ. (What pleasure he took in planning this!) He wanted us to enter into the celebration of his lavish gift-giving by the hand of his beloved Son. (Ephesians 1:4-5, The Message)

No matter how your day is going, be comforted in the fact that you are destined to be like Jesus Christ.  You may not understand why, but don’t let that keep you from living up the honor.

15 thoughts on “Being chosen is pretty cool

  1. I am glad to see your post getting some formal praise. I know they have been a daily blessing for me. I also agree with your thought about the importance of recognition. I know that I am often too cheap with simple recognition. It is not a malicious action, just no action.

    Thank you for your kind words on Sunday. In any group, the people make the class. We have a great class.

  2. you’ve made a good point when it comes to getting ourselves to take action, I have found for myself that to be motivated towards something is often a lot better than to be be motivated by fear of something. Going towards what we want rather than away from something we don’t. Probably has something to do with what we’re focusing on thus creating. Thanks for the post, it got me thinking 🙂

  3. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed! I have NO idea how one is chosen. I read most of them though and aspire to get Pressed someday lol. yes, recognition…weird how we need it.

    • Cheri, I feel a little embarrassed that I’ve been featured and you haven’t. It’s obvious you put a lot into your blog. It looks very professional. I have a feeling that there’s at least some arbitrary nature to it. How else could they sift through millions of blogs?

      The only thing I see different about this blog from my other is that it has a “how to” connotation. I’ve read that’s the kind of thing readers look for. Just a thought.

      It’s more than about recognition (though that is certainly nice!). I’m sure you’ll agree that the more people interested in your blog, the more interest there would be in other writing projects like, say, a book. And, we write because we want people to get something from it. It’s great to feel useful.

      Thanks for reading mine. I’ll certainly be reading yours.

      • Thank you Dave for the compliment. Great comment/feedback. I am glad they have the feature because otherwise I would not have found so many great blogs!!

  4. Congrats!!! n i love this saying “No matter how your day is going, be comforted in the fact that you are destined to be like Jesus Christ. You may not understand why, but don’t let that keep you from living up the honor.”

    • Hey Yuna! Isn’t it great to know that we don’t have to know how everything works for us to enjoy our status in Jesus Christ? There’s a lot of freedom in that. Funny, it makes me want to know him more.

      Good luck on your new blog. I hope people like it as much as your niece goes for those banana treats you make.

      • yess, indeed. that’s a great thing. me too, i really want to get deeper with our Savior. Nice to meet you.

        thank you for passing by at my blog 🙂

        God bless u 🙂

  5. Hi! I’m one of the many new-bee’s to your blog due to your ‘Freshly Pressed’ notoriety. Choosing to follow it, however, was because of the unashamed way you say the name of Jesus, our great King of Kings. Blessings to you in honoring Him.
    Here’s to leading others closer to seeing His face…

    • Thanks so much for the blessings. It’s funny that, when we try to lead others closer to him we end up getting closer ourselves. From the looks of your blog, you know just what I mean. Stay true, my friend.

Leave a Reply

