Downton Abbey . . . yeah, I watch it.

Highclere Castle

Highclere Castle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay guys, hear me out on this one. I mentioned this at our young adult Bible study on Wednesday, and there were some very surprised looks. Here goes. I’m up to date on all of the episodes of Downton Abbey.  There, I said it. Now, before I have to forfeit my man card, let me tell you why.

For those of you who live on another planet, Downton Abbey is a British TV series about the family of Robert Crawley, the Earl of Grantham, and the extensive staff that run their mammoth home pictured above. The series starts in a setting just before the first World War and is currently in its third season where they’ve progressed to a little after the War.

The way the staff’s roles are portrayed – with strict guidelines designed to reflect upon the honor of the family – set alongside their interactions with each other, is intriguing. The portrayal of  an aristocratic family struggling to adjust to the great change in the social structure of England fascinates me. The implications of the financial stability of the Crawley family on the surrounding community are far more significant than I had imagined, almost medieval,  for a setting only 100 years ago. Downright riveting.

But, those aren’t the primary reason I watch. It’s not the many awards, including an Emmy and a Golden Globe, that initially drew me to it either. The only reason I started watching was because my wife did.

Vanda was excited about seeing it first as a DVD from the library.  She also happens to be British, so when word of its great popularity came from across the pond she had to see it.  Now wifey gets excited to view it on Sunday evenings on PBS – and I’m right there with her.

There’s a good chance I would never have tuned in if it wasn’t for Vanda.  I watched because it was something we could do together, and now I’m a fan.  I started watching it because it appeals to her, and now it appeals to me.

What a concept!

Why didn’t God think of that? Why doesn’t he call us to do the things that he would do, and eventually we would discover that they appeal to us too, because we are becoming like him?

Oh, wait . . . he did.

Give it a shot, friends.  I’m not talking about Downton Abbey (though it’s not a bad idea). Try doing something just because it’s what Jesus would like you to do along with him. You’ll start off being satisfied solely in the fact that you’re making your Savior happy and eventually you’ll discover that those things fulfill you as well.

Happy Valentines Day, Vanda (I’m actually writing this yesterday, so it’s not late).  I look forward to watching the next episode with you this Sunday evening.

6 thoughts on “Downton Abbey . . . yeah, I watch it.

  1. I bought seasons 1 and 2 just before Christmas but haven’t started watching them yet. It’s time. I’ve heard so many people talking about Downton Abbey. There’s not much on TV I care to watch anymore and I’m just sick and tired of the crime shows, the blood and gore, murders, etc. I’ve been told I will love this. Guess I need to take the shrink wrap off the DVDs and let the show begin!!

Leave a Reply

