It’s been a year, so time for a blog makeover (not “dog” makeover, silly).

“Today, the part of Blitzen will be played by Winston.”

It’s hard to believe that it’s been just over a year since starting this blog. February 25, 2012, I began on this trek, and things have changed a bit. I was unemployed without benefits back then, and would be for another five months. I also had never been published, and now there’s a number of devotionals and an article under my belt. There’s great potential for a church plant in a coffee shop or two in the future, which had been a dream I had given up on.  Things have changed for the better, proving once again that God’s goodness knows no end.

So, I thought I’d change the blog a bit as well. I’m not sure why I like grunge themes. Maybe it’s because there’s a sense of getting down to the nitty-gritty of my Christian experience. I don’t even know if that makes sense. “Grunge” has a nitty-gritty feel to me. Anyway, I hope you like it.

My initial purpose in starting this blog was to develop a platform for the book I’m trying to get published in this very unfriendly book publishing environment – especially for first timers. But, I’ve found that I like blogging. It’s become a great discipline for me. I had tried to journal the events of my spiritual journey in a notebook (the old-fashioned kind with paper), but that didn’t last very long. Blogging is kinda the same thing with a little more meat to it. It’s not just for me . . . it’s for you.

Blogging has developed new friendships for me and rekindled old ones. Being featured by WordPress’ Freshly Pressed gave a huge boost to my followers, adding 140 fellow bloggers. One of the great things about blogging is that it isn’t a one way street. I’ve learned much from comments to this blog as well . . . even the ones that were difficult for me to read. You make me think about God in real life, and that’s never a bad thing.

Along with the new look, I’m thinking about other ways to keep things vibrant. My friend, Ryan Hart, suggested that I develop a sign-off phrase. I think he means something like ” . . . And that’s the way the cookie crumbles,” like Jim Carey says in Bruce Almighty (Great flick!)Of course, I’d need my own, and I’m sure that he would be ready with some suggestions.

Anyway, things have changed, but the main thrust of the thing is still the same. The young adult group at our church is working through my book with me and giving great insight. I’ll rework it and submit it for publication again when it’s ready. I’ll have to step up my efforts in getting people to this blog through plugins, meta tags, widgets and other technical hocus-pocus that are beyond my comprehension.

In the meantime, thanks for hanging around. I’ve paid the fee for an upgraded site, so I’ll be here waiting for you for at least the next year just in case you decide to drop by.

(By the way, this picture has nothing to do with today’s blog. It’s the first picture to appear on my blog post on February 27, 2012, about my dog, Winston.)

2 thoughts on “It’s been a year, so time for a blog makeover (not “dog” makeover, silly).

Leave a Reply

