Lunk alarms work

Lunk AlarmIt finally happened. In my post about Planet Fitness I made reference to the Lunk Alarm. It’s a large purple siren fixed high on the wall. It’s part of a sign that defines a Lunk as someone who displays their physical strength by shouting while lifting or slamming weights down at the end of some heavy reps. I’d not heard or seen the alarm go off in my four months there and I was beginning to think that its function was limited to decor.

When the siren went off my first thought was that it was a fire alarm, but nobody moved toward the exits. I noticed the light flashing when I got to the other side of the machine that had been obstructing my view. Everybody else must have experienced the alarm before that day because they kept going about their business unaffected. The culprits had been putting on a show that no one had been watching.

I don’t know how it went off. Maybe there’s a sensor that activates the alarm when a certain decibel is reached. There could be a button that patrons or employees can press when offenders do their thing. I’ll ask the guy at the desk tomorrow.

I don’t know how the alarm is engaged but I know one thing for sure: we all knew whom it was for. A couple of guys who I hadn’t seen there before (and haven’t seen since) were going at bench pressing like a couple of rock stars.

Photo credit: Wouter Beckers / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

Photo credit: Wouter Beckers / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

Guess what happened next? They stopped showboating. Nice.

Everyone in the room had been aware of who was committing the offense even before the alarm did its thing. The perpetrators were probably embarrassed by the whole thing. The alarm is there to tell them of their actions so that we don’t have to. If it had been up to us my guess is that nobody would have. That would have been awkward. But it wouldn’t be a nice place to work out if lunkiness were to go unmonitored.

I wonder if those guys were aware that they were being so loud before the abrupt interruption. It may have been embarrassing for them for the moment but it probably saved them from being so on a regular basis. It was worth it for everyone.

There are lunks in church, too. The problem is that we don’t have lunk alarms. Maybe we should.

“Watch out! Don’t do your good deeds publicly, to be admired by others, for you will lose the reward from your Father in heaven. When you give to someone in need, don’t do as the hypocrites do—blowing trumpets in the synagogues and streets to call attention to their acts of charity! I tell you the truth, they have received all the reward they will ever get. But when you give to someone in need, don’t let your left hand know what your right hand is doing. Give your gifts in private, and your Father, who sees everything, will reward you.” (Matthew 6:1-4, NLT)

3 thoughts on “Lunk alarms work

Leave a Reply

