Invisible Car Crash Prank

Cruel.  Just cruel. But fun to watch!

There were basically two kinds of reactions in this clip: those who looked first and those who ran and then looked.  The woman with the white jacket at the beginning stood still and looked for the accident as four people around her dove for cover.  But some people jumped for cover even when they didn’t know where the danger was coming from.  My favorite is the older gentlemen towards the end who keeps right on going, gently hurdling minor obstacles as he made his way a safe distance from the perceived disaster.

It’s an interesting example of how people react to danger that isn’t real, and I think it has New Year’s implications.

I took a quick look at Facebook this morning.  My friend, Phil Bartholomew, posted a picture that was pretty cool.  It’s the Beethoven image below. Having been a music major and having played in more than a few groups, I really liked this quote.  There aren’t many composers or conductors that I’ve played for who are okay with inaccuracy.  The good ones, though, require playing with passion.  

Beethoven quote

So I can see what Beethoven meant.  And I wonder how his words affected the musicians he said it to.  The master had declared his preference for holistic participation over flawless precision.  The fear of accidents had been keeping them from the pursuit of magnificence – and now they were free. I wish that performance could have been recorded!

There is something I hadn’t noticed about the funny video clip until the third time watching it.  The crew who had set up the speakers at the beginning were near the people who were being pranked at the time the screeching disturbed their peace.  The innocent bystanders were affected by the sound and by the reaction of the actors. Other people’s reactions tend to affect our own.  That’s why it’s so important to hang out with like-minded people.

We are surrounded by a culture that evaluates competence primarily by the precision of our performance.  That makes us afraid to live with passion.  It causes us to live in fear and dive for the sidelines even if the dangerous consequences we dread are as fake as Hollywood snow.

The Master, Jesus Christ, would rather have you go for it than live in fear of what might never happen.  And even if you do mess up, he’s got way more grace than Beethoven.  

With that in mind, let’s see how you perform this year.  Feel free to change your resolution to something a bit more significant, and live with real freedom.

(P.S. – I could have used the Invisible Wall prank that might come up at the end of this one for this post too. Very funny!)

(Jesus said this) “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”
(Matthew 6:34, NLT)

(Yep, Jesus again) “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.” (John 14:12, NLT)

9 thoughts on “Invisible Car Crash Prank

  1. Dave – Haven’t written for quiet a while cuz I was off my blog. We once wrote each other about how we wanted perfect blogs and neither one of us was good at this. We also wrote about where to get photos free of copy-write infringements.This is why I’m writing today. It use to be we could get photos through WordPress that were recommended based on a blog’s theme. I wrote a blog today and found this service missing, completely gone. Do you know what happened? It’s one of the things I enjoyed about writing a blog.This service was much more creative than I am at picking pictures, and it was so easy! I’m so disappointed it’s gone! Sigh!

    • Hey Lena. I didn’t notice that it was gone today because I used youtube for the video and facebook for the pic. What I’ve done in the past is got to foter.com. I believe that’s where WordPress got their pics anyway. You can search for just the free ones. The only thing you’ll have to do is credit the source as they ask you to. I hope it works out for you.

      • As soon as I looked at my comment I noticed the typo – quiet instead of quite. I’m so bad at editing my own stuff! Anyway – thanks for the info about foter.com! Really appreciate your help.

Leave a Reply

