I’m most like Mr. Carson on Downton Abby

Photo credit: Blind Hen ⁑ Blind Höna / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

Photo credit: Blind Hen ⁑ Blind Höna / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

I’ve admitted to you that I’m a fan of Downton Abbey, so when a personality test based on the characters of that appeared on facebook I couldn’t resist.  Strangely, I was pleased to discover that I’m like Mr. Carson, the stoic, deep-voiced Butler full of honor and a strong sense of duty to the family. But, he’s a softy when it comes down to it.  He’s a strong leader of the large staff and stubbornly protects the family and principles that give his life meaning.

Then there’s the Star Wars one where my personality best resembles Princess Leia. Sadly, this one is probably more accurate because it’s based on my Myers Briggs results (ENTJ).  But don’t worry, I’m not going to start wearing my hair like two jumbo-sized ear muffs and sing “Swing low, sweet chariot” in my Death Star prison cell (Oh wait, that last part was the princess from Spaceballs. Sorry.)

People can check out who they resemble based on looks as well.  I’ve seen status updates on facebook that share results from web sites that analyse pictures of my friends and suggest what stars they look like.  My curiosity got the best of me. But it occurred to me that people can look different in multiple pictures because various angles can offer varying perspectives, so I used two pictures.

Vince Vaughn (Photo credit: Gage Skidmore / Foter / CC BY-SA)

Vince Vaughn (Photo credit: Gage Skidmore / Foter / CC BY-SA)

The first made my best match as Vince Vaughn.  The next closest matches were prince Harry, then Al Gore and George Bush (talk about different perspectives!). However, it came as quite a shocker to see Elizabeth Shue in the middle of the results. The second picture I offered on the same web site gave me Jason Statham, Lennox Lewis, Robert DeNiro, Dustin Hoffman and . . . Rupert Murdoch?! Some results pleased me, but I have to admit that I was surprised that neither Kevin James nor Drew Carey were among them. 

We are fascinated with finding out who we are most like.  Maybe we think it helps solidify our identities and bolster our self-image. After the analyses of the pictures I was given an option to post them on facebook, but I declined. I wonder how many times people submit pictures until they get a star they want people to associate them with.  That temptation briefly visited me.  It feels good to be able to control other people’s perspective of who we are.

If you worry about how people see you, there’s a pretty cool thing about God that will sound amazing.  God can see you from every perspective of your life – the good, the bad and the ugly – but chooses to observe his children from just one:

For you are all children of God through faith in Christ Jesus. And all who have been united with Christ in baptism have put on Christ, like putting on new clothes. (Galatians 3:26-27, NLT)

There you have it.  No need to sculpt your persona to get maximum acceptance.  You’ve already got that from God.  You can submit as many of the sinful, depressing, unsuccessful images of your life to God and He’ll always match you up with Jesus.  Your heavenly Father chooses to see you like His Son – sinless and worthy of being called his child.

It’s a match no celebrity could possibly outshine.

Leave a Reply

