Noah the movie. Yeah, I’ll watch it.

And as a Christian, I’m even looking forward to it.

As the title of this post suggests, I haven’t seen the movie that opens today. So this isn’t a critique. I’m writing my four reasons to see the movie, before I actually see it, because now is the best time to say what I have to say, which has nothing to do with my estimation movie’s quality or possible lack of Biblical integrity.

My first reason: the trailers look awesome.  Russell Crowe and the rest of the cast have been in their fair share of great movies. This one looks like it will measure up.  I really enjoy movies and stories about people having courage to stand up for what is right, especially when so much is on the line.  Yes, my first reason is that basic.

Secondly: historical fiction is a widely accepted genre.  It’s when creative people make up stories set around real historical figures and events. And if some people have a problem with this movie because it’s fiction based on holy writ, why don’t they have a problem with Christians who do just that – and whose efforts we laud – like with books by Tim Lahaye and Jerry B. Jenkins (John’s Story, the entire Left Behind Series) and Tosca Lee (Iscariot).

In fact, the most prolific Christian writer of all time, Max Lucado, has historical fiction peppered throughout his books, speculating on how biblical characters may have felt or reacted to actual Biblical events.  If Christians do it, who are we to say that others can’t?  Furthermore, I think it can be to the advantage of God’s cause (I’ll explain that in my fourth reason).

Noah the movieThirdly, Paramount added this disclaimer: “The film is inspired by the story of Noah. While artistic license has been taken, we believe that this film is true to the essence, values, and integrity of a story that is a cornerstone of faith for millions of people worldwide. The biblical story of Noah can be found in the book of Genesis.”

They’ve admitted that it’s historical fiction! And, THEY TELL PEOPLE WHERE TO FIND THE REAL STORY. I didn’t see that coming.

Fourthly, since this is Hollywood’s perspective of the “essence, values and integrity” of this Biblical story, it can tell us a lot about the things of God that can inspire people who may not follow him.

Did you get that?

There are things about God and the people who follow him that capture the imaginations of both Christian and non-Christians.  For instance, in the clip above the king says to Noah,”I have men at my back, and you stand alone and defy me?”  Did you get chills up your spine when Russell Crowe pauses, looks his antagonist square in the face and states, “I’m not alone.” What conviction!  What courage!  What hope in something greater than us! I imagine that sentiment would spark the imagination of many non-Christians as well.

Other themes I’ve gathered from this clip: wickedness in the world and God’s (and Noah’s) response to it; hearing God; adversity to those doing right; importance of family; being chosen by God.  If these are things that attract the attention of people exploring who God is, it’s up to us to help that process along.

I’m excited about this movie because of its potential to advance the message of who God is to people who don’t know him. This is their chance to see God in a way they can understand. I have a feeling that God is all for it.

 

14 thoughts on “Noah the movie. Yeah, I’ll watch it.

  1. It’s interesting to me how the ideas of the Left Behind series have actually become biblical fact to many people. Is it that when the author is a Christian, Christians expect that it is truth? Whereas; a mainstream film sometimes elicits criticism from the “faithful” based on its’ accuracy?

    • Jack, I think there is truth to what you are saying. I don’t know of any specifics, but I’m sure there are people who believe that some of the made up aspects of that historical fiction series are from the Bible. I’m sure that thought horrifies the authors. It’s a sneaky double-standard Christians need to avoid.

      Genuine objectors from the Christian community to films or books about the Bible are eager to have our God portrayed accurately. I count myself among them. God wants to be properly represented, and I want that as well. Less noble objectors just want a fight, and that’s not the way Jesus did things.

    • We’ll see. The author of the blog you linked is angry from the start. Who sits in the theater with pen an paper to record every biblical miscue? If it shows Noah worshiping Satan, as the blogger states, then I will shoot down the movie in a heartbeat. But, I didn’t see the reference to that part of the movie in the blog because I don’t like reading about a movie before I see it.

      Either way, my reasoning in this blog are legit. If it is way off, we’ll still be able to see it as what it is: a non-believer’s perspective on God. After all, Paramount did say the movie based on the biblical account.

      And, I must point out, that blogger went to see the movie. I’ve never been one to take a critic’s word for it.

      Thanks Margaret. I’ll let you know how it goes when I do see it. (It may not be for awhile since I’m too cheap to pay for a full priced movie ticket).

  2. It is amazing the response that this movie got. Some Christian film critic love it other hate it… After watching it I didn’t like it but not for the reason that many Christian critics didn’t like it. I had no problem with all the deviation that it took from the bible…maybe a little the Rock people was a bit too much…It was just boring. I didn’t care enough for the characters. However the main villain of the movie represented for me the clasical definition of what heresy is: a misleading exageration of the truth….

    Cool blog…right of my alley.

    • Hey Caleb. I’ve heard different reviews of the movie as well. Sadly, I’m not in a position to see it until it comes out on DVD (maybe it has?). It is interesting to see how Hollywood dresses up the Bible.

      Too bad it was boring. Even more that it was misleading in telling the truth. I suppose we can’t expect accurate rendering of the truth from people who may not even know it themselves. I like the idea of picking up on the truth that they did get right and work from there. Thanks for your comments, Caleb.

      • Hey Dave,

        I can not agree with you more!…although I found it boring, there were some elements that I really like. The fact that there is a “creator” and the way that the movie depicted the fight between good and evil. I thought those were positive things…theologically speaking oh well, I have some serious reservations. Like you I try to find the good out of movies that come out of Hollywood…even movies like the X-men, sometime it is a reach!

        I hope I don’t discourage you from seeing it. You may finding it entertaining, it does have good acting and great visuals…I can be picky some times!

      • Brilliant, Caleb. I do plan on seeing it. It sounds like you have a good grasp on what Truth is. Since that is rare these days, this is reward enough from the blog post! I plan on telling what I think of the movie after I see it. It would be pretty funny if I hated it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

