The LGBT sentiment is godly, in a way

Choosing between God and Gay

 

I saw this posted on facebook yesterday and it has stuck with me.  The tone isn’t combative. The sentiment portrays a basic human need: to be accepted for who we are.

I’m not sure what rock I’ve been under, but this is the first I’ve heard of Vicky Beeching. From what I’ve learned about her from the internet, she seems like a lovely person who isn’t out to pick a fight. Her web site describes her: “. . . with warmth, humour, an ivy-league mind and striking honesty Vicky communicates a message of authenticity, challenge and self-development, much of which is drawn candidly from her own journey.”

In her interview with the BBC after the announcement about her sexuality, she noted that she stayed with the church because she thinks that disagreeing with someone doesn’t mean you can’t associate with them.

Wow, it looks like we’d get along swimmingly.

My blogs in the past show that I disagree with her about homosexuality and Christianity. But, my point here is to draw out what I saw when I read the caption in the picture above. The sentiment is about rejection, and it occurred that the LGBT community has something in common with Jesus Christ:

He was despised and rejected—
    a man of sorrows, acquainted with deepest grief.
We turned our backs on him and looked the other way.
    He was despised, and we did not care. (Isaiah 53:3, NLT)

Romans 1 is a common passage cited by the pro-heterosexual camp of Christianity.  Please indulge me as I make another reference to it.  Paul shares God’s wrath against those who reject him.  They didn’t like the version of God they were seeing so the tried to change him (I included through the first part of chapter 2 to highlight that Paul wasn’t just talking about homosexuality.).

The problem is, God doesn’t change. When our desires are heartfelt and we don’t understand why we are the way we are – God doesn’t change. When every fiber of our being screams that our plight is pure – God doesn’t change.

The tone I tend to see in the Bible with regard to homosexuality is this: God says that heterosexuality is the right way. If you reject that, it’s not so much his rejection of you, but of your rejection of him – and he doesn’t want anyone to perish. I don’t say that flippantly because I have struggles of my own that God dislikes and to which this concept applies.

The cool thing is that Jesus hung out with sinners, including all those who did the rest of the list Paul puts alongside homosexuality in Romans. He even hangs out with me.  The danger is in misinterpreting that as if you’ve (or “I’ve”) changed God. It ain’t gonna happen.

Yes, my friend Vicky Beeching, you must to choose between doing what you strongly desire if it conflicts with being a true disciples of Jesus Christ. But it might be helpful to think of it another way. It’s not a matter of him rejecting you, but of you rejecting him. And you, more than most, know how rejection feels.

God can’t change, but you can. And isn’t that the point of being a Christian?

 

One thought on “The LGBT sentiment is godly, in a way

  1. Very interesting take on things, Dave. I wondered in the beginning where you were going to go with this, but you brought it together!

Leave a Reply

